Views
Helpful
Replies

NetFlow Terms - Flow record

mirkobrodersen
Level 1
Level 1

Hello guys,

im studying NetFlow atm and I want to know if I understand the flow record correctly. Especially important for me to understand here, since im struggling with this a bit is the flow record "match" and "collect" statements.

Flow record: The Flow record is used to specify different flows to be matched and which data is collected from them.

The match statement: The match statement is used to match on a packet field, for example the ipv4 protocol field, which determines what the device should look for.

The collect statement: I think, the collect statement basically have two jobs. First it defines, which information we want to gather from the flow, and second it determines what NetFlow sees as a flow. That is the important part for me, since I have a problem here, getting my around this.

Example: If I have a collect statement, which matches on the destination ip address of a packet. And lets say a match statement, which matches on the protocol type. Lets say ICMP. Now here is the thing I struggle with: That basically means, NetFlow would see a packet from 10.0.0.1 to 172.16.0.1 as well as a packet from 10.1.1.10 to 172.16.0.1 as a single flow, right? Because the criterias are the same. Protocol Type is "1" and the destination IP doesn't change. Is my understanding correct here? If not, I would be happy to hear why it is not and how It actually is.

Thanks in advance!

Kind regards,

Mirko

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

For Netflow it is used like this:

Flow record: The Flow record is used to specify different flows to be matched and which data is collected from them.

The match statement: The match statement is used to match on a packet field, for example the ipv4 protocol field, which determines what the device should look for. This also determines the flow. I will provide an example below.