Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Nexus 7010 mgmt0 useage opinion

As a Senior Network Engineer I have entered into a bit of a debate with our Architect about the use of the mgmt0 interfaces on the nexus 7010 switch (dual-sups, M2 and F2 linecards).

I would like to know opinion of the Cisco support network.

I believe the mgmt0 interface should left alone for control plane traffic only and Out Of Band management access (ie ssh).  At the moment I have made a subnet for all VDCs with the mgmt0 (vrf management) sitting in a common subnet.  The physical mgmt0 interfaces from both SUPs are connected a management hand off switch.  The mgmt0s also serves as our control plane for VPCs. The VPC peer-link however is using main interfaces of the line-cards.

The opinions;

- The Architect thinks we should use all the mgmt0 interfaces for snmp, ntp, tacacs netflow-analysis and switch management.

- However, I think I should use a traditional Loopback to perform these functions within the linecards.  The mgmt0 should only be used if traditional restricted switch access has failed.

My Basis;

the Loopback never goes down, uses multiple paths (the OOB hand off switch could fail closing switch management access completely).  The mgmt0 should be used as a last resort of management access to CMP.

Thoughts please - Cheers

3 Replies 3

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hmm,

I'd be more with your architect on this one. I'd recommend the mgmt0 port for VPC peer-keepalive plus all the other traditional management features cited as attributed to your architect above. That approach is also the Cisco recommendation per the Smart Business Architecture guide series. (Reference)

I already popped the VPC keep-alives in the mgmt0 interfaces - as per recommended guidelines.  However, I'm not happy about it - as the OOB switch for mgmt0 SUP interface is singular. 

In order to mitigate this I did;

switch1

SUP0 mgmt0 > OOB1 fa0/1