cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PrimeLMS 4.2 Update Device Hostname

gwatkinsqt
Level 1
Level 1

My organization is running Cisco Prime LMS 4.2.  I recently added some devices via IP Address.  For some reason, I can't get it to update the device inventory with the device hostname.  I've checked the device credentials and they are good.  I've removed the device and readded by IP Address and run a device inventory collection but it still isn't updating the device hostname.  How can I make this happen?  BTW, I'm very new to Cisco Prime LMS.

Thanks for any assistance you can provide.               

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi ,

How would cisco wokrs know that there is a HOSTNAME associated with this IP address ?

"The Host name can contain IP address if the address does not resolve to a name"

So  in your situation you must provide DNS resolution for all your network  devices to have them listet with names instead of IPs.

You can do this  either by a real DNS server or maintaining a hosts  (etc/hosts) file.

Thanks-

Afroz

[Do rate the useful post]

Thanks- Afroz [Do rate the useful post] ****Ratings Encourages Contributors ****

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

AFROJ AHMAD
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi ,

If you want this to happend.

you need to add the device with the HostName Only not with the IP address.

try to add the device with the hostname and see if it works then..

If you are adding the devices via device discovery then you need to make sure the host name is DNS resolvale.

Thanks-

Afroz

Thanks- Afroz [Do rate the useful post] ****Ratings Encourages Contributors ****

Thanks for the reply Afroj.

I'm adding the devices via Device Administration > Add/Import/Manage Devices

If the device is added via IP Address then why wouldn't the device hostname be discovered?  I'm not referring to a DNS hostname.

Hi ,

How would cisco wokrs know that there is a HOSTNAME associated with this IP address ?