cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Router(boot)> --- Can't get out of this mode Cisco 2514 router

Will Brad
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a returning student with not a lot of real world hands on experience (wasted a lot of time with things like GNS3), especially super legacy models such as the 2514 router, which is my current problem child. I purchased a stack well over a decade ago and just pulled it out of my storage, so they do belong to me, BUT I am not a current enterprise paying partner with Cisco except as a student, so I don't think they'll help me especially since this is way way way out of support for them.  Out of my old legacy stack of switches and routers, I got everything up and running except this one pain in the rear router, which has frustrated me to this point.  I've spent 2 straight days not getting this series of problems fixed.  Yes, I've read a lot of threads on here, but I couldn't either understand fully or the info was unique to them.  I even consulted Cisco documents. So, I figured I'd just suck it up and ask for help. 

**please don't assume I know what you're talking about if you don't spell it out for me and this will also help other frustrated students reading this in the future**

First problem is it came up with obvious memory errors, so I unplugged it, cracked it open and reseated the RAM - FIXED THAT!

2nd problem is it came up with a secret password I couldn't guess, so I broke in with with Ctrl+break and issued #config-register 0x2142 from enable mode.  The real current problem now is that I think I bricked it while guessing how to set it back to factory defaults while frustrated and randomly throwing commands like write erase, copy run start, copy start run, erase flash, etc  I can't recall everything I typed, but I used help a lot and tried everything that looked remotely close to a working solution.

Now I'm stuck in Router(boot)>  ---  (I think this is called the boot helper mode for this series router)

I've tried:

Router(boot)>en