Views
Helpful
Replies

Script to disable G0/0 port if assigned IP address is not reachable

Alex Caldas
Level 1
Level 1

Hi folks

First of all, I'm not a network guy, I'm a developer guy.

I'm trying to help my network guy with the following...

We have a Cisco 1921 router where G0/0 port is hooked up to a Comcast modem (primary line) which is assigned a single static IP address.

G0/1 port is hooked up to a wireless Raven X device powered by Sprint (backup line).

Idea is when Comcast goes down, all traffic goes to the G0/1 interface (Sprint).

However, it seems router can only switch traffic if physical G0/0 port is down which means unplugging the cable.

No matter if Comcast is really down, the Comcast modem will always be up on the G0/0 port.

So, I wonder if there is a way we could write a script to check if the assigned Comcast static IP address is reachable.

If it is not reachable, disable the G0/0 to force all traffic to go to the G0/1 interface.

When the Comcast IP is reachable, re-enable the G0/0 interface back.

Not sure if possible, but I think Cisco routers must be running a type of OS which allows some kind of programming and scheduling.

Thoughts?

Thanks for reading.

...Alex

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

This isn't entirely possible.  While you can certainly test if a port is viable or not, once you disable it, how do you retest its viability?

One thing that could make this possible is to switch the default route.  I can't imagine simply having an interface up when it doesn't have routes pointing out of it would disrupt traffic.  In that case you could test the point-to-point connectivity out of that interface, then switch the default route back if the connectivity works.

View solution in original post