cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Telnet Issues

badamov
Level 1
Level 1

I am trying to understand why I am not able to remote into Cisco Switch 3750 v2series   PoE 48 in the same building using the IP address of the Management Vlan. I am several offices away and I am unable to enter the IP address into putty and  telnet or SSH into the switch, Am I missing something.How do I remote access a switch from a different geographic location.

I am studying for my CCNA and trying to understand this aspect so I can continue in my learning process.

I have configured the default gateway, already.. When I try to use telnet ( it gives me a putty failure) and when i use SSH it tells me my password is incorrect, here is my syntax...when i do the show run command.

line vty 0 4

password 7 01070308550E12

login

length 0

transport input telnet

line vty 5 15

password 7 01070308550E12

login

length 0

transport input telnet ssh

I have already created a username and a password and ran crypt also to generate my keys...I am prompyed with a login and when I give the switch my username, it changes to my ip address and than asks for my password, when I enter it it tells me access denied.

16 Replies 16

I understand your pain.

Based on the fact that you are unable to access the device remotely, you will require out of band access to the device using a console cable.

Use the following steps to re-establish remote connectivity to your device.

From the config# mode enter :

aaa new-model  

user badamov password Your-Password 

( badamove being your username and Your-Password : Your customized password)

service password-encryption

enable sec  Your-Password

It is recommended to use ssh and not telnet for remote access to your device ,however for educational purposes i will also include telnet access as well

To determine the type of access that are allowed to your device you may include transport input telnet as listed below.

line vty 0 4