Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5505 - ADSM can't send commands

johncwoo2
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to all this so please bear with me.

I'm trying to configure, for the first time, my ASA 5505.

I can connect to the device with the default settings but I cannot configure the device to perform it's role in our network.

I've changed the password on the enable_15 account with which I log into the ASA. I tried using the blank/blank login/password as well.

I'm attempting to change the default address range from the default 192.168.1.1 to 192.9.200.1. However, I cannot seem to save the change. The ADSM says it's sending the commands to the ASA but the commands never apply. After this, I must restart the ASA to achieve a connection again at which point the default settings are still in place. The same thing happens when I attempt to run the "Startup Wizard". I'm running ADSM 6.2 and the ASA 5505 is running firmware 7.2.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

10 Replies 10

Allen P Chen
Level 5
Level 5

Hello,

So you are using ASDM to change the IP configuration, correct?  After changing the IP address of the ASA to 192.9.200.1, did you change the IP address of your host to the 192.9.200.0 subnet, and then try to reconnect to the ASA using 192.9.200.1?

Since the commands were never saved, when you reload the ASA, most likely the reload changes the IP back to the default of 192.168.1.1.

It might be easier to make the IP change using the command line via the console cable.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/security/asa/asa72/configuration/guide/intparam.html#wp1051819

Hope this helps.

Allen,

This helped immensely. The wizard was working properly...well almost. What it wasn't doing was turning on the dhcp server...I guess that command never made it through. So when I set the IP of my host manually, I was able to connect and save the config.

Thank you for your help.