cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5545 blocks traffic

ckolesar
Level 1
Level 1

I have two Cisco ASA 5545 firewalls.  I am having a problem where every month or two the primary ASA fails to where it blocks all outbound traffic.  The fix is to manually fail over to our secondary ASA, which then allows proper traffic flow. I realize that if I were able to do some troubleshooting while it was down, that would be the best solution for me, but b/c it brings all our remote sites down to us as well as outbound traffic- its very time sensitive and I just dont have time to troubleshoot it while its not working.

I have the ASA sending logs to a syslog server, and I have sent those off to Cisco TAC, but they have not had much luck on determining the cause.

My ASAs are mainly acting as a firewall and providing isakmp/ipsec connectivity to our remote sites.

I am not an expert on the ASA's so please bear with me on that.

Both devices are running the following:

Cisco Adaptive Security Appliance Software Version 9.4(4)16
Device Manager Version 7.7(1)150

-------------------[ firepower1 ]-------------------
Model                     : ASA5545 (72) Version 6.0.0 (Build 1005)
UUID                      : ae10699c-c05c-11e5-9090-83918997b897
Rules update version      : 2017-11-09-001-vrt
VDB version               : 264
----------------------------------------------------

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

5 Replies 5

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

its hard to say for the few details your provided.

what happens when you Fail-over to standby  - remain standby as primary  ? ( do you see any issue with the secondary  also ?)

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

So that is what i have set now-- i have failed over to secondary and have been running that as the active primary for the time being.

I have not tried staying on the secondary to see if it has the same problem. I always reboot the primary and then make it active.