Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA Internet Access Rule

Mokhalil82
Level 4
Level 4

Hi

I was trying to configure a access rule to allow all internal users internet access on an asa 9.3 using ASDM. I don't want to use the default security levels as I will be adding other rules for specific access.

I configured a rule on the Inside IN interface to allows any source, to destination Outside interface on HTTP & HTTPS. Ive configured the NAT aswel. When I try running packet tracer, the trace fails on access rule. 

When I select destination as the outside subnet then I can only get to the outside subnet and not the internet. I may be missing something here and this is my first attempt. I was hoping I could just select the destination as the outside interface and should work.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Vibhor Amrodia
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

By default as you know on the ASA device , if you have the traffic moving from the Higher Security interface to the lower one , you don;t need any ACL to be configured on the inside interface to allow the traffic.

If you want an ACL to restrict the traffic , you need to allow the traffic from any to any based on specific service rather than the ASA outside subnet as the destination would not be the ASA outside network.

I think if you correct this and apply a NAT statement , that should resolve the issue.

Otherwise , if you still see the issue , post the packet tracer output with the relevant configuration from the ASA device.

Thanks and Regards,

Vibhor Amrodia

View solution in original post

2 Replies 2

Vibhor Amrodia
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

By default as you know on the ASA device , if you have the traffic moving from the Higher Security interface to the lower one , you don;t need any ACL to be configured on the inside interface to allow the traffic.