Views
Helpful
Replies

Clock-Signal Repair Pictures ISR4300, ASA, ISR4400

Bernhard Roth
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

We have many devices affected by the clock-signal issues.

Cisco does replace the units with repaired/fixed ones.

I have received some ISR4321 routers with the fix applied (pictures attached).

The Cisco provided fix is of - well - mediocre quality (loose solder joints etc..) but works.

I am an EE engineer and am able to fix other routers of my customers as well (attached a picture of one of my fixes).

Spot the difference :)

Is there anyone which has received fixed ASA5506, ASA5508 and ISR4331 routers?

Please post pictures of your fix (hi-res if possible)

I ask because I would like to fix them as well (some of my customers) and avoid configuration, license etc. migration.

I am aware that I might void Ciscos warranty by this act of evil :)

Best regards,

Bernhard

85 Replies 85

Thanks for the image - let us know if you come across a 4351 RMA :)

ISR4351 and ASA5506 are still on my list. No RMA received yet.

I do not want to know Ciscos backlog.... must be huge

Does anyone have any idea what the voltage should be on the "151" 150Ohm 0604/0402 resistor should be? Others have mentioned 1% tolerance, just curious what voltage rating, ie. 5v?

Thanks!

I used the following in size 0603 and have installed these in several units now. Four were already bricked, and these brought them back to life. Once installed I checked resistance using the corresponding points on the board and they all came back at a solid 150.0 Ohms. Prior to installation the reading from these same points is around 74 Kohms. 

Range of thick film surface mount resistors manufactured by YAGEO including 0603, 0805, 1206 packages. Available in a wide variety of values offering a precise 1% tolerance. 

• Packs of 100
  • Supplied on cut tape packaging
  • Excellent solderability
  • Power: 0603=0.1W, 0805=0.15W, 1206=0.25W
  • Maximum voltage: 0603=75V, 0805=150V, 1206=200V