Views
Helpful
Replies

Connecting 2 different networks with 2 different ASA

michaeltownley7
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings,

I am a beginner network hobbyist, working with Cisco's equipment in Packet-Tracer and I am currently trying to connect 2 Cisco ASA Firewall's  together. My setup is simple, it consists of 2 main networks (technically 5 if you count the point to point's correct me if I'm wrong) with one computer and one router on each side both with a firewall in the middle. My goal is just to be able to ping from PC0 to PC1. I have a basic understanding of ASA commands like creating ACL's, and NAT'ing and such but I could not seem to make the ASA's communicate regardless of what I did the traffic refuses to go through the other firewall. So my question is how would I go about setting something like this and if there is any helpful information about standards and procedures you could give me along the way that would be awesome.

Thank you, michaeltownley7

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

@michaeltownley7

Can each PC ping it's local ASA (the inside interface of the ASA)?

Can each ASA ping each others outside interface?

Did you configure the ACL or inspect icmp as per above?

Do you have NAT configured?

Run the following command on ASA0 CLI - "packet-tracer input inside permit icmp 10.1.1.2 8 0 50.1.1.2"

Run the following command on ASA1 CLI - "packet-tracer input inside permit icmp 50.1.1.2 8 0 10.1.1.2"

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

michaeltownley7
Level 1
Level 1

As a note the image I attached in the main post is a clean setup where I started from scratch nothing was configured.

@michaeltownley7 I assume the ASA's themselves can communicate with each other?

For the PCs to ping each other you'll an ACL configured inbound on the outside interface, permitting the icmp reply.

access-list OUTSIDE_IN permit icmp any any echo-reply
access-group OUTSIDE_IN in interface <outside interface name>