Views
Helpful
Replies

Firepower 2140 Assistance

Craddockc
Level 3
Level 3

Dear community,

I am new to the Firepower appliances and had some questions. Our organization has 4x 2140 Firepower appliances, however they are not currently operational in the network. We are still currently running off of ASA5545X. We would like to migrate away from the ASA's onto the Firepower appliances but I am not sure where to start. The appliances seem to have the Firepower software already installed running version 6.2.2 (Build 81)and are currently imported into an FMC. I had a few questions about these devices:

-Do the 2140's run FXOS? I am unable to see if they are at the moment. From what I understand FXOS is like a hypervisor software that allows FTD software and ASA software to run on these devices?

-Do these devices run the ASA software? If not, how do you configure classic firewall rules on the device? is the ASA software accessed in a different way than the Firepower software?

I only have experience with the ASA 5545x running the Firepower module, which made the deployment much more straightforward. Any assistance you can provide on how all these software's fit together and how to go about accessing them on the device would be greatly appreciated! 

Thanks everyone!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Firepower appliances all run FXOS. On the higher end models (4100 and 9300 series) it's a separate OS that you interact with via the cli or Firepower Chassis Manager. On the 1100 and 2100 series with FTD it's embedded and it's not generally necessary to interact with it.

It's (very loosely) kind of like a hypervisor in that it controls the hardware and the FTD or ASA is a logical device that runs over the abstraction layer provided by FXOS.