cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

HTTP access outbound and back ...

mfsumption
Level 1
Level 1

I have a search engine spider that runs on my server that is protected by a PIX 501 with a basic configuration. The spider needs HTTP outbound access and back inbound again to spider a web site that is on the same server. I am a newbie, but I believe that somehow the firewall is blocking the inbound (re-entry so to speak) of the spider and therefore the spider is giving me errors that it cannot find the web site. Any ideas on how I could verify this and/or make a setting to allow this in a specific secure manner. Thanks.

21 Replies 21

No fix yet unfortunately. If the http traffic is open both ways then why can't the spider connect? I had the exact same problem with another utility called WebKeepAlive, which was installed on the same server, and all it does is make an http request to the sites on that same server, only I was getting a similar message stating that it couldn't connect. So there's got to be something blocking, and I guess I have to setup logging per Vibhor's suggestion. I don't think logging is turned on, so I have to figure out how to turn it on and try to simulate the spider activity to log something. You mentioned in your prior post that the PIX can't do "uturns" but I'm not exactly sure what you mean. The spider and the WebKeepAlive programs are just making an http request from the server to a URL that resolves to a web site on that very same server. That's the issue in the nutshell. Thanks for any additional suggestions.

Exactly...

Ok, for instance, lets say the inside web server is 192.168.1.1. You access this (abc.com) from the outside with something like...

static (inside,outside) 209.1.1.1 192.168.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.255

access-list outside_in permit tcp any host 209.1.1.1 eq 80