cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Pix 501 remote desktop or remote FTP?

mfaerber1
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, utter novice here with a very old Sun server behind a Pix 501 (v6.3) running PDM v3.0.

I need to access the server files from a remote location but I am overwelmed trying to learn how everything works.

It seems that I need to simply either create some new rules or configure the "Easy VPN Remote" section of the PDM.

Can anyone please walk me through the PDM so that I can either use remote desktop or FTP from anywhere? Whichever is simpler to explain is fine.

Thank you very much.

4 Replies 4

Hi,

To access the inside server remotely you can either use a VPN tunnel or simply use a NAT rule to redirect traffic to it.

If you have a public IP on the outside interface of the PIX, you can simply create a Static PAT rule to redirect 3389 to the server and permit it with an ACL.

It's been years that I don't touch PDM, but I can show you the commands.

Federico.

Thank you very much Federico. I think I see all of the IPs I need in the PDM. I have not yet figured out how to edit the config file within the PDM - I can view it though.

If I learn how to do that, I'll try your code if you wouldn't mind. Tell me though, if it matters where in the config file I insert it.

mfaerber1
Level 1
Level 1

Using this as a guide (https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-1972), I came up with the commands below:

static(inside,outside) netmask 255.255.255.255

access-list 101 permit tcp any host 5900

access-list 101 permit udp any host eq 5900

(Note: I do not have an ASA and I assume I want 5900 because I'm trying to get TightVNC to work and that's the default port for it.)

Would this work as I hope? If so, does it matter where it goes in the config file? And if this is correct, or after someone tweaks it a little, is there any thing else at all that I need to do to be able to VNC (or FTP) in from off-site to my and other computers on the local network?

Thanks again.