Views
Helpful
Replies

Source NAT Cisco ASA

Mokhalil82
Level 4
Level 4

Hi 

I am trying to understand the concept on source NAT (not sure if this is the same as Twice NAT).

So I have attached a sample topology. I am in the process of migrating from watchguard firewalls to cisco ASAs, and during the migration I have come across this issue I am trying to get my head around. Im pretty new to configuring firewalls.

So If external Host A is trying to access my internal Server A via ASA 2, the traffic comes in, but on return it will hit the default gateway on the core switch which points to ASA 1. I was told that I can configure Source NAT, to force that traffic to return via the same firewall which involves natting on the Inside and Outside interfaces.

Just wondering if anyone is able to shed some light on this or knows of a good link. 

Thankyou

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

I believe that from outside anyone can connect to your server at 88.88.88.254.

So in that case, the NAT statement will be :

nat (outside,inside) source dynamic any interface destination static 88.88.88.254 10.10.10.50

Ensure that we have already allowed the required traffic through access rule in inbound direction.

This will certainly make it work.

Regards,

Pulkit Saxena

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Pulkit Saxena
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

Looking into the topology, it seems that we need to get the return traffic go through ASA 2 directly.

For that we need to do source and destination NAT both.

First of all, to answer your question regarding source NAT and twice NAT.

Source NAT simply means to NAT the source IP. For instance, all inside users when go to internet gets translated to outside interface IP.

Twice NAT also called as manual NAT is a feature on code 8.3 and above where in a single NAT statement you can NAT the source and destination both.

In this scenario of your's, the statement's syntax should be like :