cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Switching ISP - new external IP range - Help with Pix

robcatronkhsaa
Level 1
Level 1

I apologize in advance for my very basic questions.

I am switching ISPs in my company.  Going from two T1s to a 10 meg up and down EIA Circuit.

My target turn on date is this Thursday.  I am not an expert on our (legacy) Cisco 501 Pix unit in any way.  It has been setup and running great for years.  I have never had any problems going in and creating new translation and access rules as we have expanded our IT department, but my problem is that with all of my external IP addresses changing, I want to make sure that I have my bases covered.

My primary concern is with the PAT and just the basic interface settings that I need to look for in order to have my firewall work with my new IPs.  NAT rules should fall right in place.

I guess my most basic question - once I connect my new source into my pix - will I immediately get internet at my workstations?  I know I will have to change my NAT rules in order for my mail server (which is internal) to work.

In my translation rules list (and I use the graphical interface - I cannot do command line) that whoever initially setup the firewall has a PAT:

Original:

Inside:any/0.0.0.0

Translated:

Outside: 70.43.xxx.xxx (interface PAT)

This will obviously have to change as the 70. IP as it is going away as soon as I go live.

I am looking for help (perhaps checklist) on what steps I need to take.  I am getting a range of 14 IP addresses with my new setup. 

Again, sorry for sound so much like a Ciso Pix newb. Thanks much.

Rob Catron

9 Replies 9

Jennifer Halim
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

A few things need to be changed once you connect to your new ISP:

1) The PIX outside interface ip address needs to changed to the new ISP assigned ip range, with the correct subnet.

2) The PIX default gateway needs to be changed to the next hop ip address of your ISP.