Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Comments
jemclaug
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

I've been a network engineer for more years than I'd care to admit, and having worked in IT, as a partner SE, and in TAC, I know how network engineers think.  We like predictability, and we figure we know how to build networks that work.  A bit like the auto mechanic looking at an electric car, we tend to say, "that's interesting," scratch our heads, and then go back to what we know well.

Since we've been building networks the same way for 20 years, network engineers often go back to their tried and true methods of doing things.  Thus, when they look at a technology like Software-Defined Access, which employs LISP, VXLAN, and SGTs, sometimes they want to revert to Spanning Tree and HSRP and forget about fabrics.  I've also talked to some engineers who've been through the SD-Access deep dives, who've done the packet walks and looked at the frame formats, and yet who still cannot understand why to bother with fabric at all!

In my session entitled "SD-Access:  Why is my Salsa so Tasty", we take a look back at how we build networks, and why we need to change.  The old paradigm for access networking is quite well known:  layer 2 at the distribution and access layers, layer 3 at the core layer with the default gateways running HSRP, and Spanning Tree to block loops.  Over the years, improvements came along to this basic model.  STP yielded to RSTP, GLBP improved upon HSRP, and eventually box aggregation technologies like VSS and Stackwise Virtual did away with STP altogether.