Views
Helpful
Replies

Example for a simple stacked NSO Service

ks
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am quite new to NSO Development. I am searching for a example for a simple stacked NSO Service. I went through the development guide but I am not quite sure how to accomplish this.

Thank you

Knut

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Here is a very crude example just to show the mechanics of mapping between the layer.

It is exactly like mapping to device-models, except the top-level service maps to bottom-level service[s].So it is possible to have N levels of mappings. The bottom most layer would then map to a device model.

https://communities.cisco.com/docs/DOC-77788

View solution in original post

25 Replies 25

kiran kotari
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

jump into you package directory and enter the following command in your project.

cisco@NCS:~$ cd $HOME/ncs-run/packages

cisco@NCS:~/ncs-run/packages$ ncs-make-package --service-skeleton template-based l2vpn

|-> your package name

These are the following options:-

JAVA specific options:

--java-package NAME

PYTHON specific options:

--component-class NAME (default main.Main)

--action-example

--subscriber-example

You will get to see the basic examples of NSO Service.

Hi Kiran,

I am searching for a example where one service instincates some other more basic services.

Kind regards

Knut

You can find the basic services in the Lab Guide and here are few links from github.

https://github.com/NSO-developer/nso-ospf-service

https://github.com/NSO-developer/nso-firewall-services

sspehar
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm not sure if there's an example of a simple stacked service in the installation dir, but there's an example of layered service architecture which is using service stacking (nso-dir/examples.ncs/getting-started/developing-with-ncs/22-layered-service-architecture). The difference is that it's not a monolithic nso but a different architecture because of LSA.