cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

NSO SNMP NEDs

m4mayank
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to NSO development, I am having trouble with compiling MIBs for creating SNMP NED package for certain devices. I am trying to get the ARP table from the device.

As per my understanding from NSO documentation, i have to get the MIBs corresponding to particular OID and then compile them to create a NSO package corresponding to the device. Am i right in my understanding?

Also i am using the Cisco Devnet NSO sandbox and in order to find the mibs corresponding to the images on some of the devices in sandbox, i ran "Show version" on a device. It gave me the image file as : "bootflash:disk0/xrvr-os-mbi-6.3.1/mbixrvr-rp.vm"

how do you think can i get the image name because the cisco SNMP object navigator does not take any possible combination of image name out of "bootflash:disk0/xrvr-os-mbi-6.3.1/mbixrvr-rp.vm"

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

m4mayank
Level 1
Level 1

So finally i have been able to compile the MIBs and get the SNMP NED to obtain the ARP information. Here is the step by step guide to what i did: 

1) Used https://snmp.cloudapps.cisco.com/Support/SNMP/do/BrowseOID.do?local=en to find the object ID corresponding to ARP and thus find the MIB corresponding to the object ID. Turns out for ARP it is IP-MIB

2) I downloaded the IP-MIB from the same site and renamed the file to IP-MIB.mib. I moved the IP-MIB to a folder named MIB in my home directory.

3) I ran the command 

ncs-make-package --snmp-ned ./MIB/ acme

and further ran

cd acme/src/; make;

on running the make NSO threw me an error and asked for these MIBS: INET-ADDRESS-MIB   IF-MIB

4) I used the same source to get the MIBs and copied them into the MIB folder. and then repeated step 4 again. This time it asked me add IANAifType-MIB.