cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

AP joins WLC and broadcasts SSID but clients don't get IP address from DHCP server

Tanyi
Level 1
Level 1

Hello guys,

I am taking on a wireless deployment, but I'm not a pro in the domain. The attached image gives the topology being deployed using WLC2504 and AP1572. All interfaces/networks are routed using OSPF. As shown, both APs are provisioned with static configurations and both point to the WLC successfully.

I have created 2 SSIDs: (WiFi-VLAN130 and WiFi-VLAN126) on the WLC and both are being broadcasted by AP-1.

WiFi-VLAN130

- dynamic interface: 10.201.30.3/24

- gateway: 10.201.30.1

- DHCP server: 10.201.61.51

WiFi-VLAN126

- dynamic interface: 10.201.26.3/24

- gateway: 10.201.26.1

ISSUES:

1. wireless clients can view both SSIDs from AP-1 but can't pick up IP addresses from the Linux DHCP server. When static IP addresses are used on the wireless clients, they successfully connect on the network. What could I be doing wrong?

2. how do I get AP-2 to broadcast the SSIDs because SW2 is the default gateway for that network area, and I am not too sure about the settings for WiFi-VLAN126!

Below is the configuration of the switches:

!********* SW1 config **********
vlan 999 name NATIVE VLAN
vlan 130
vlan 161
vlan 162

interface vlan 130
ip address 10.201.30.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 10.201.61.51

interface vlan 161
ip address 10.201.61.1 255.255.255.0

interface vlan 162
ip address 10.201.62.1 255.255.255.0

interface Gi1/0/8
description TRUNK LINK TO WLC
switchport mode trunk
switchport nonegotiate

interface Gi1/0/23
description LINK TO AP-1
switchport mode access
switchport acess vlan 130

!********* SW2 config ***********
vlan 999 name NATIVE VLAN
vlan 126

interface vlan 126
ip address 10.201.26.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 10.201.61.51

vlan 126
interface Gi1/0/23
description LINK TO AP-2
switchport mode access
switchport acess vlan 126