cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

bandwidth, delay and tcp window size

prahlad_panchal
Level 1
Level 1

We have recently installed a DS3. RTT is 40ms. The wan routers are 7500 running 12.1.17 image.

Will I ever be able to used the entire 45mbps bandwidth ?

IOS 12.1.17 has max tcp windows size of 65535

rfc1323 Window Scale Option is only supported on IOS 12.2.

TCP Window = Bandwidth (bytes/sec) * RTT (seconds)

65535=Bandwidth*40/1000

Equals to 13.107 Mbps.

Should I upgrade the routers to 12.2 which supports rfc 1323 Windows Scale option ?

I have tried increasing tcp window size in my NT machines at both ends. The max transfer I get is 282Kbytes/Sec. I used ftp.

6 Replies 6

lgijssel
Level 9
Level 9

This is a very interesting issue. Strange that there are no other replies so far. I studied the case a bit and thus the following remarks:

When do the routers need to know about TCP window size? Their main task is IP routing, which requires packets only to be examined at layer 3. The window size is something that is negotiated between the end nodes that have a TCP connection established. Exeptions to this occur when the router does something like protocol translation, tunneling through TCP or when a router on one end is also the termination point for the TCP connection. So I would not think that an upgrade will help you much.

Another remark is that the actual speed is much lower than what might be expected from the calculations. 13 Mbps should equal an FTP-rate of about 1Mbyte/s. So your achieved results are 4 to 5 times lower than they should.

When you get this straight, you will just need three simultaneous connections to fill the link almost completely. That should be pretty sufficient as this type of link is never installed to serve only one end node.

Goodluck with it, and please let me know if you solved the issue somehow.

Hello,

Can I know how FTP rate is calculated above.

Thanx,

Praful Jaded

sorry, I was on vacation and just back.