cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Catalyst 2950 Behaving rather strangly...

cknipe
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm going to be honest from the strart, this is my first attempt at VLANs. I managed to get everything up and running by myself, but obviously I did something wrong...

Here's some of the issues that I am having.

- FastEthernet Ports will simply for no reason, shut down. fa0/3 and fa0/24 did this already. I tried manually enabling them again (no shutdown), as well as pulling out / replacing the cables. Nothing worked, power cycling the switch is the only way I know of (up to now), to get the ports back to a operational state.

- I'm getting ALLOT of CRC Errors (+- 30 per 5 minutes, on a IDLE port), virtually on ALL the ports. If it was one or two ports, I could believe that it was a faulty cable / NIC on the other end, but because this is happening on EVERY SINGLE FastEthernet Interface, again, I have to question this from the Switch's perspective, and not the LANs.

<snip>

wsmd-vlanmgr01.ournet.co.za#sh int fa0/3

FastEthernet0/3 is up, line protocol is up (connected)

Hardware is Fast Ethernet, address is 0012.7f7e.22c3 (bia 0012.7f7e.22c3)

Description: WSMD-CORE02 - International Access Router

MTU 1500 bytes, BW 10000000 Kbit, DLY 10 usec,

reliability 254/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255

Encapsulation ARPA, loopback not set

Keepalive set (10 sec)

Carrier delay is 100 msec

Full-duplex, 100Mb/s, media type is 100BaseTX

input flow-control is unsupported output flow-control is unsupported

ARP type: ARPA, ARP Timeout 04:00:00

Last input never, output 00:00:00, output hang never

Last clearing of "show interface" counters 00:41:10

Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0

Queueing strategy: fifo

Output queue: 0/40 (size/max)

5 minute input rate 232000 bits/sec, 43 packets/sec

5 minute output rate 235000 bits/sec, 44 packets/sec