Views
Helpful
Replies

Need help in increasing CPU utilization for Cisco Switch

mahazz12
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have a cisco switch (Cisco Catalyst C9300) and want to increase CPU utilization of the switch. I am passing lots of different types and heavy traffic on the switch through TRex, but the CPU utilization is stuck on 1%. No matter how much I try, the CPU utilization is not increasing.

I also tried disabling STP which increased CPU utilization to about 40%, but every time it resulted in losing my SNMP connection to which my monitoring tool and switch were connected, hence I am unable to further monitor the switch (for throughput etc).

I am new to networking and want to conduct experiments, so I want that the CPU utilization 0%, 50% and 100% (or you can say variations in CPU utilizations up to MAX) in order to carry out the tests. Can someone please help me out with how do I increase the CPU utilization? 

TIA.

30 Replies 30

Ramblin Tech
Spotlight
Spotlight

Switches/routers that forward data-plane traffic in hardware (NPU) will not have their CPU utilization materially increased by increasing the amount of transit traffic that they forward, if that transit traffic stays in the NPU. If, for your experimental purposes, you want to increase CPU utilization, then I see the basic approach as giving the CPU (not NPU) more work to do. A few ideas come to mind here: