cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie question

allphase1
Level 1
Level 1

Hey guys, i'm new at this so please excuse the inexperience. I just picked up a 2505 to help me study for my CCNA. The problem i'm having is that I can't seem to connect to it. Rather, it doesn't seem to respond to any input commands.I'm connecting via Hyper-terminal using a console cable. The connection is successful and when the router is turned on, I can see the configuration information. However, when I press Return to get started, nothing happens. I've tried to connect with 2 different Pc's which leads me to believe it is a router problem. IOS is 11.2, hyper terminal settings are:

Com1 port

9600 bps

8 data bits

parity - none

stop bits - 1

flow control - none

I hope this is enough info. Thanks in advance.

5 Replies 5

Hello,

try different speed settings in your HyperTerminal session, somebody might have changed the console port speed.

Also, try and reboot the router, then press Ctrl+Break within 10 seconds after power up. You should see a prompt that looks like this:

ROMMON>

or

ROMMON#>

If the ROMmon prompt is ">", type the following at the ROMmon prompt:

>o/r 0x2102

>i

If the ROMmon prompt is "rommon #>", type the following at the prompt:

rommon 1> confreg 0x2102

Then, type ´reset´ to reboot the router.

If that doesn´t help either, get back into ROMMON mode and type ´setup´ , accept the defaults, and at a certain point you will be asked about the console port settings, here, make sure the speed is 9600...

Let me know if any of this works.

Regards,

Georg

d_pinto
Level 1
Level 1

Those settings look correct... What type of cable are you using to connect to the console port ? You can't use an ordinary RJ45 straight through. You need to use a roll over cable.

The specs for a roll over cable are below hope this helps...