port-security violation error question

Armegeden
Level 1
Level 1

switchport port-security

switchport port-security maximum 1

switchport port-security mac-address sticky

switchport port-security mac-address sticky 0000.0000.1111

That is the generic setup we do for our switches. This is my first time really using port-security, and we're getting users calling in when they decide to switch ports on us, so I would say it's working effectively.

My question is: Is there a way to view or tftp the log for a particular switch that has a port in err-disabled and have it tell me what unique MAC address *tried* to connect to the port?

Rephrased: How can I see the non-sticky MAC address that put the port in "err-disabled."

Sorry if my wording is hard to understand. It makes sense in my head 8)

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

amit-singh
Level 8
Level 8

Hi,

Did you check the switch logs. What does " show log " gives you. I think the switch logs the events in its buffer.

You cna have logging enable on a server to and you need a syslog server for that.

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/lan/cat2950/12122ea5/2950scg/swlog.htm

HTH,

-amit singh

View solution in original post

kumarsh
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

I verified this on my Cat6500, To me it clearly throws up a syslog message to say which Mac address did the violation. I am not sure which image you are using, Please use latest image and verify.

BOX1(config-if)#

02:44:33: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface GigabitEthernet4/16, changed state to down

02:44:33: %PM-SP-4-ERR_DISABLE: psecure-violation error detected on Gi4/16, putting Gi4/16 in err-disable state

02:44:33: %LINK-3-UPDOWN: Interface GigabitEthernet4/16, changed state to down

02:44:33: %PORT_SECURITY-SP-2-PSECURE_VIOLATION: Security violation occurred, caused by MAC address 0000.0000.0058 on port GigabitEthernet4/16.