So I would think if a vlan is added to a switch whose vtp mode is server and that vlan is then in turn propogated to a switch in either client or server mode, if said added vlan is not saved to the start-up config on the switch is was added to and that switch is rebooted then the added vlan should in turn be removed from the other client and server mode switches.
Is this correct?
Basically I am trying to find out if a add a vlan to a switch in server mode and is messes everything up will a reboot fix it ( ie remove it from any other switches that have now added the new vlan to their vlan database even if one of the switches that learned the new vlan is a switch in server mode.)
Solved! Go to Solution.
Yes By Right When your VTP server comes up after a Reboot it will readvertise all Vlans and all switches will sync up its Vlan database .
If you dont save the vlan in the VTP server and VTP server gets rebooted ,Then as it comes up all swiches in the domain will also delete that unsaved Vlan from its Databse as well ,
This is True if you have only one VTP server for that VTP domain.If you have more than one VTP servers than situation is more complicated .then configuration revision number plays the deciding factor here
There is another VTP server in that domain. What would I need to do in order to remove the added vlan if it becomes necessary?