cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco RV180W help

bobwhite8
Level 1
Level 1

So I've read and read about setting up the WAN static IP connection, and can't get it to work. I purchased this router to replace an older Linksys Router (WRT150N) so that I could better implement VPN. All I need is 2 remote connections. The Linksys Router has been working great with a static IP setting, so I figured all I need to do to is enter the same IP, subnet, gateway, and DNS settings in the RV180W and it should work fine. Well it doesn't provide any connection to the internet. As far as I can see, it has all the same settings set that the linksys has.

Is there something additional I must do for a WAN static IP setting setup.  I even contacted the ISP but they say their modem is fine and of-course they won't assist with the router. As soon as I connect the linksys back to the modem, I get access to the internet.

I'm no engineer, but something isn't allowing any Internet services.  LAN is fine. I attached a W7 laptop to the router, and it says it can't reach the internet due to something about proxy services. There is no proxy server so not sure what it is referring to.

Can anyone shed some light on this?  By the way I tried another manufacturer router just to ensure that it wasn't a defective RV180W, but that router didn't connect either - same issue. If I set it up on my home service, both work albeit only with DHCP WAN settings.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Bob, what is the LAN IP address of the old Linksys router? The error received when you connected your computer to your modem is a DNS problem. That can be easily fixed if DNS is really the issue.

When you connect your computer directly to the modem, open a command prompt or terminal and ping 8.8.8.8. When you ping any valid IP address that is supposed to respond to ping, it should work without problems. But if you ping something like www.google.com it should fail if the DNS is broken.