cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Need some advice with RVS4000 Firmware Upgrades

fredprinz
Level 1
Level 1

I have a lot of years working on computers and setting up small networks at home and in our office. However, I'm fairly new to updating Cisco routers, and I have some questions that I’ve researched but haven’t found any definitive answers. 

I need to update the firmware in an RVS4000v1 router in our office.  The router was purchased about three or four years ago and the firmware was never updated.  It is currently at version V1.1.14!  I have found three upgrades that are not yet installed: RVS4000-1320.img, RVS4000v1_V1.3.3.5.img, and RVS4000v1_ver1.3.3.6.img. 

• First question: Do I need to install each upgrade in date of release order, or can I just upgrade to the latest version? 

• Second question: The RVS4000 Administration Guide, OL-22605-02 firmware upgrade instructions state that after downloading the firmware, which I have done, I should “Extract the firmware file on your computer”.  I was unable to open the .img file or load it on CD or flash drive.  I did find notes in the forums to use the .img file as is, and load it when prompted on the router’s Firmware Upgrade page.  Can anyone confirm how I should use the .img file, extract the firmware or load the .img file as is.  My plan right now is to use it as is, unless I hear differently.

• Last question: Do any of the upgrades resolve the IPS slow downloads when enabled?

Any help with answers to any of my questions will really be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any advice,

Fred Prinz

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

mdobiac
Level 3
Level 3

Hello fredprinz,

I am sorry you are experiencing this issue.  As for the firmware I checked the release notes and it did not state you needed to do a sequential upgrade to get to the latest firmware which is 1.3.3.6.

Link:  http://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/routers/csbr/rvs4000/release/notes/rvs4000_rn_v1_3_3_6.pdf