Views
Helpful
Replies

Pls help, missing something simple

Michael
Level 1
Level 1

Thank you for your help.

I am new to routing and need some guidance.

I have two networks (I will call them A and B) and each has its own gateway (Comcast IP Gateways).

My Goal is to phase out the "A" network.  Step one is to get devices on network B, to see devices on Network A.

NOTE: I do not have access to the ASA 5505.  It was put in place by a vendor long ago, I have no idea of the password and I can not reset that device, I dont know how its configured so I cant recreate it. 

(192.168.60.x) Network A
First Network : Comcast router -> Cisco ASA 5505 -> 3Com 4400, 50 port switch.

(192.168.50.x) Network B
Second Network Comcast Router -> RV320 -> Netgear Prosafe 20 port switch

The Cisco Routers in each network are the DHCP Servers.

I have factory reset the RV320
I have the mode set to Gateway and the Comcast modem connected to WAN1.
I have the Netgear switch in port 1 (Network B) and the 3Com switch in Port 2 (network A)

I have configured VLans 1 and 25 to reflect IP's of 192.168.50.1 and 192.168.60.1 respectively.
RIP is enabled, both receive rip V1 & V2, and set to transmit broadcast.

I'm not sure of the IP address of the Comcast Modems.  The RV320 shows me 73.57.224.1 and that is Pingable from the Diagnostic Ping test.  It is not pingable from my workstation 192.168.50.101

I have a single static route set up as destination 192.168.60.0, 255.255.255.0, Router of last resort is 192.168.50.1  (Enabling this route has no effect on anything..)

IF i made my workstation IP static, and assign the adapter both 192.168.60.101 AND in advanced settings set up 192.168.50.101 and add both gateways 192.168.60.1 and 192.168.50.1, i can ping network B.  (however, i can not do that for the workstations in the company.  They are set to DHCP and need to remain as such).