cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Advertise two different Data center summary routes into same BGP MPLS Cloud.

Mike Hogenauer
Level 1
Level 1

Afternoon –

I’m looking for the best way to advertise two separate datacenters subnets into our private BGP / MPLS cloud. We have two main datacenters one advertises the summary router of 10.1.0.0/16. The other datacenter advertises the subnet 10.2.0.0/16. I would like to advertise each datacenters summary route into the cloud for redundancy and failover. Can is just advertise the subnet and control the weighting of each route when I redistribute into my IGP or should I route-map the subnet and weight it into BGP from each WAN router. Just looking for the best practice / best way to accomplish – I’m a newbie to BGP.

Example:

Datacenter 1 – summary 10.1.0.0/16

-----------------------------------------------------------

router bgp XXXX

no synchronization

bgp log-neighbor-changes

network 0.0.0.0

network 10.1.0.0 mask 255.255.0.0

network 10.2.0.0 mask 255.255.0.0

no auto-summary

Example:

Datacenter 2 – summary 10.2.0.0/16

router bgp XXXX

no synchronization

bgp log-neighbor-changes

network 0.0.0.0

no auto-summary

Thanks in advance –

Mike 

10 Replies 10

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Mike

Your question is asking how to achieve failover between DCs by advertising out each other's subnets but then you talk about weight and IGP metrics but these would only influence outbound traffic from the DCs not inbound traffic.

So I'm not sure which you want ?

Assuming you mean you want to influence inbound traffic to the DCs in case of a DC link failure then yes you can do this with BGP.

What you do is have each DC advertise it's own and the other DCs subnets but you make sure that if both links are up each DC is used for it's own subnets.

There are two main tools for this -