Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP updates

Maham1530
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am working on a topology which has 6 AS systems. BGP is running between AS systems. The topology is not connected to any external network (internet/ISP).

I want to get BGP updates every minute. When I run the topology, I get BGP updates initially, just one time. After that there are no updates. Can anyone help me in figuring out how can I get updates every minute? 

I understand that updates are sent when there is some change in the topology. How can I make changes in topology every minute to get updates.

I am a newbie in networking stuff. Please help!

7 Replies 7

Hello,

on one of your routers, you could create a loopback interface and then use an EEM script that runs every 60 seconds to advertise that network, hence triggering a topology change every 60 seconds. The script would look like below:

interface loopback100
ip address 100.100.100.100 255.255.255.255
!
event manager applet BGP_UPDATE
event timer watchdog time 60
action 1.0 cli command "enable"
action 2.0 cli command "conf t"
action 3.0 cli command "router bgp 1"
action 4.0 cli command "network 100.100.100.100 mask 255.255.255.255"
action 5.0 wait 10
action 6.0 cli command "no network 100.100.100.100 mask 255.255.255.255"
action 7.0 cli command "end"

Hello,

Thanks a lot for the help!

I did similar to what you suggested. When ever there is an update, the dump file( where the updates are being saved) re write all the data every time. I don't know why this is happening. Every time I parse that file, there is only latest update and all the previous data is gone.

Can you help regarding this? 

Thanks.

Hello