cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Can ping google.com but not 8.8.8.8 - Noticing some BGP route differences

kaydee9152
Level 1
Level 1

Please forgive my utter lack of BGP knowledge. I am new to the networking world, and even moreso, the BGP world.

We are having an issue where one of our ISP routers can ping both google.com and 8.8.8.8, but the other can only hit google.com and not 8.8.8.8.

In my troubleshooting I noticed that the working router has a proper next hop to the isp when pinging both name and ip. The non working router's next hop is the working router's ip when attemping 8.8.8.8. When pinging google.com from the non working router, it does have its proper next hop of the isp it is connected to.

I further verified that when executing sh ip bgp, that the non working router shows a *>i for 8.0.0.0 to the working router's interface, whereas the working router shows the proper *> for 8.0.0.0 to its isp connection.

So as I understand it, the non working router is learning incorrect BGP routes? Not sure what else I should be looking for, so any assistance is appreciated.

7 Replies 7

Hello

To assist you further can you post or explain how your routers are connected to each other, your network and the isps

Please rate and mark as an accepted solution if you have found any of the information provided useful.
This then could assist others on these forums to find a valuable answer and broadens the community’s global network.

Kind Regards
Paul

Hi Paul. Thanks for the reply. They are directly connected on their g0/2 interfaces via ospf. The router that cannot hit 8.8.8.8 is connected to Century Link, and the one that can is connected to Level 3. 

trfinkenstadt
Level 1
Level 1

In your iBGP configuration, do you have "next-hop-self" set on both sides?  

Also, Google.com for me resolves to 172.217.6.174 (right now) as opposed to their public DNS of 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.