Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 2811 infrastructure question

Hello guys,

I'm a little new to Cisco tech. So i have this question:

I have a 2811 router witch by default has 2 FE ports witch can be configure 1 for WAN (ISP) and 1 for LAN (internal network). My question is this: what module / solution do i have to take to have let's say ... 2 more WAN interface. I would like to  have backup lines for my internet connection, and when one becomes unavailabe the traffic will be routed on the second and so on. I'm intrested in 2 more WAN ports.

Best regards,

Gabriel Tudoran

12 Replies 12

Kevin Brennan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Gabriel,

From a hardware perspective, the HWIC-2FE should suit your needs - Just be sure to check your IOS version for support.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/routers/ps5854/product_data_sheet0900aecd80581fe6_ps5855_Products_Data_Sheet.html

Note that you wont actually get anywhere near fast ethernet routing speeds in the 2811.

You could also use a HWIC-4ESW and vlan interfaces. This would be cheaper, but would have less flexiability as the L2 interfaces don't have the same range of features that the L3 ones have

With respect to failover, you might look at dynamic routing with your ISP or using PBR with tracking (http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6637/products_ios_protocol_option_home.html)

HTH

Kevin

Message was edited by: brennan.k

Hello brenan.k and thank you a lot for your quick answer.

I didn't understand this sentance: "Note that you wont actually get anywhere near fast ethernet routing speeds in the 2811.".

I don't have the same ISP for my 2 WAN connections, i have 2 optic fibers from 2 different ISP.

And another quick question that come in mind: could i use the 2 buildin ports from 2811 (FE0 and FE1) as WAN connections and then buy a much cheaper module for LAN - sitch module (like HWIC-4ESW)?

Best regards,

Gabriel Tudoran

Gabriel