cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 897VAG-LTE series router, can it be setup on FTTP NBN?

VULCA
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all! First time poster and newbie to networking here.

As a personal project and achievement I am hoping to get this 897 series router setup as my home network router as an upgrade from my stock rubbish iinet one.

I am led to believe it is possible with this router, I am just unsure as the cisco CLI is not something I have used before.

Can any experienced veterans help a lad out?

I am not really sure where to start in terms of deploying this thing. My networking teacher at TaFE (im a cert III student currently)  says that Cisco routers are a powerful tool to wield if you know how to use them correctly, especially on a trashy little home network.

Any pointers or insight would be greatly appreciated!

31 Replies 31

Hello,

the first thing you want to check is if you can directly connect your 897 router to whatever handoff your ISP provides, or if you need to use it as an additional device behind your ISP modem/router. Both setups are fairly easy to accomplish, only the configuration of the 897 differs slightly. If you have any experiemce with Cisco IOS, try and see if you can post the output of the command 'show run'....

Hi! 

I dont fully understand what you mean by "the first thing you want to check is if you can directly connect your 897 router to whatever handoff your ISP provides, or if you need to use it as an additional device behind your ISP modem/router."

Anywho here is the show run command output, I hope this is what you were after?

Router#show run
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 2255 bytes
!
! Last configuration change at 07:26:46 UTC Sun Sep 26 2021
!
version 15.5
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname Router
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!
enable secret redacted