cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco router to modem

HMA173671042
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm new in networking field, and just have a question related to router.

Usually, for home network, I will have modem connect to Internet (WAN) port on the home router, and then use the ethernet ports on the router to connect Access point or end devices like PC.

However, why I don't see the such Internet (WAN port) on some business routers. For example, Cisco router 1941, I only see 2 RJ-45 port GE0/0 and GE0/1, which are Ethernet ports. In this case for example, how can I connect a modem to this router for internet access?

Thanks!

Cisco-1941-overview.jpg

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Most of the use case for this Router ( can br branch router and small office router, or Home Router) this will intern connected to Lan switch. (this is just router)

If you looking Router and Switch in the same Device (depends on end device requirement you need to look at different model

1 Connection goes to WAN

1. (you can directly connect to PC - only 1 device)

Note: 1. Free slot available for you to buy Network Module to accommodate more devices, that is limited based on the module and slots free and how many you populating.

2. This product is the end of life that means cisco no Longer officials have to support it.

3. If you are looking to use refurbished for a home lab, that is ok for your testings.

here is the start configuration guide :

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/routers/access/1900/hardware/installation/guide/1900_HIG/19pwrup.html

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

View solution in original post

Hello

@HMA173671042 wrote:

In this case for example, how can I connect a modem to this router for internet access?