cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Differences between 2811 running advipservices vs 2901 or 1921 running ipbase-k9? Other questions concerning integrating home network and lab network

wintermute520
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I have a cisco lab setup at home for my CCNA studies.  I'm currently studying for the 200-105 exam.  I passed the 100-105 exam in February.  I had the idea of integrating my lab network with my home network.  My lab network is all 10/100 ethernet connections.  I've got 3 x 2811s running 15.1-4M advipservices-k9 and 3 x 3560s running 12.2-44 advipservices-k9.  My home network is all gigabit ethernet connections.  I'm looking for a 1921 or 2901 as they're both 1U units and I only have a few U left on my rack.  I'm also looking at a 1921 or a 2901 because they have gigabit ethernet ports. 

I've been looking on ebay at refurbished and used routers as I don't have a very large budget.  All of the ones I've seen come with just ipbase-k9 it looks like.  I tried using the feature comparison tool on Cisco's website to compare the firmwares and had a hard time interpreting the differences.  It looked like it was mainly just a bunch of VoIP stuff which I'm not dealing with at all. 

What differences would I notice between the advipservices firmware on my lab devices and the ipbase-k9 firmware?  Is the 1921 or the 2901 better?  I think the 2901 is preferable since it can have it's ram expanded while the 1921 is stuck at 512MB maximum.  I don't think I'd necessarily ever need more than that but I like to have options for upgrading on the chance that I start doing more with my networks in the future.