Views
Helpful
Replies

Dynamic routing and GRE

Groto145
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I just started learning about GRE. Now, I understand the concept and implementation, but I don't know how to send/force send traffic through the tunnel. I watched the following video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FyQSOAevcyk and in it, traffic is sent through the tunnel using static IP route from PC-A to PC-C and R2, because of it, doesn't know their LAN network addresses and the network address of the tunnel. Now, the problem with that is that now you can not ping R2. Also, let's say that I connect to all routers more routers and to all of them more LAN networks- the static routers begin to be a big problem.

Now, if I take that kind of networks topology- my steps of configuration are as following:

1. use dynamic routing protocol as for example OSPF to advertise all the network so that I archive all-round connectivity

2. implement GRE

3. advertise GRE tunnel network using OSPF which results in forming OSPF neighbor over the tunnel

Now, the result of this that while I can still accomplish all-round ping, only pinging from the tunnel gateway to tunnel gateway will result in traffic going through the tunnel and the rest of traffic will go normally to intermediate routers.     

Now, my question is- how to force traffic, with the usage of dynamic routing protocol, to go through the tunnel if it needs to go from router to router which forms the GRE tunnel and not normally thought intermediate router(s) and the rest of traffic to go normally.

The following image shows my intent- ping from PC-0 to PC-1 did not go through the tunnel even though the tunnel is up and there is formed OSPF neighbor over it (when pinging from Zagreb to Dubrovnik ( and vice-versa) ping goes through the tunnel)     

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,