Views
Helpful
Replies

EIGRP load-balancing though not meeting FC

mlan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, 

I'm studying for my CCIE and exercising with EIGRP. 

All my exercises are done in CML2, using IOS Version 15.9(3)M3. 

In my last LAB I was playing around with different paths and how adjusting the metric changes the FD, CD and RD. 

The Routers are setup to consider only DLY for the EIGRP metric calculation (Metric weight K1=0, K2=0, K3=1, K4=0, K5=0)

Now following setup. I have a network 155.1.9.0/24 reachable through two Routers, R7 ad R1. 

By default, the DLY via R7 is 30 (CD = 768/ RD= 512) and DLY via R1 is 50 (CD = 1280 / RD= 1024).

EIGRP is correctly choosing R7 as successor and setting the FD to 768.

For my test I've wanted to increase the metric via R7 step by step to see how the Router behaves in terms of CD and FD. 

As I understood EIGRP, increasing the metric should lead to a recalculation of the CD, but the FD should stay the same as long as the route is not going Active. Increasing the DLY to 40 via R7 confirmed my assumption as the CD increased to 1024 whereas the FD stayed at the expected 768.  

In my second test, I've wanted to increase the DLY by another 10 microseconds, to have a total delay of 50 via both paths, leading to the same metric as well. As the FD is set to 768 and R1's RD is 1024, I've expected to still have just 1 successor, being R7, even though both will have the same metric, but as R1 is not gonna meet the FC (R1 RD =1024 > FD = 768) it should not be considered as a successor. 

After increasing the DLY to 50 via R7 I've ended up with the same metric for both paths (CD=1280), but the Router has installed both of the uplinks into the routing table, even though the FD stayed at the expected 768. 

sh ip eigrp top 155.1.9.0/24
EIGRP-IPv4 Topology Entry for AS(100)/ID(150.1.6.6) for 155.1.9.0/24
  State is Passive, Query origin flag is 1, 2 Successor(s), FD is 768
  Descriptor Blocks: