Views
Helpful
Replies

EIGRP - NBMA

Mohammad Nasim
Level 1
Level 1

hello everyone,

I am studying my first lessons on CCNP. I started with EIGRP and now configuring it over a Frame-Relay network.

• Platform: three c3660 routers in GNS3 environment
  • Topology: Hub-and-Spoke
  • Strategy: Multipoint with sub-interface s1/0.1 configured
  • psudo broadcasts have been configured via frame-relay map ip A.B.C.D xyz broadcast command.
  • split-horizon has been disabled over sub-interface s1/0.1 on all routers
  • each router's routing table is complete showing all other routers' networks (loopback and physical)
  • IP addresing scheme have been revised many times.

The problem is that, Hub router can ping any other router's interface, but spokes cannot ping each others.

what could be the problem, if i can see all necesary info in the routing table in each spoke ?!!

topology.jpg

Mohammad Nasim.

CCNA instructor.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Mohammad,

The most probable reason is the lack of DLCI mappings on your spoke routers that map the other's spoke IP to the DLCI towards the hub router. You have to add them manually - this is one of the most common issues in hub-and-spoke FR topology.

The lack of reachability between spoke routers does not influence the ability of all routers to have complete routing tables. That is one of the confusing aspects here. However, always keep in mind that pairwise, the communication still works, i.e. WEST can talk to HQ and HQ can talk to EAST, and vice versa. Hence, the routing tables will get complete, but that still does not mean that EAST and WEST can talk to each other directly.

Best regards,

Peter

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Mohammad,