Views
Helpful
Replies

[Help please] Cannot ping PCs across routers

CyberAira
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to packet tracer and I am trying to ping PC A to PC B with no success. They can ping correctly within the same network like PC B to Switch B but cannot get across the routers (etc. ping PC B to Router A fails vice versa).

I set the default gateway for all of the config to be 166.1.10.10 and I have attached my pkt file here just in case anyone wants to open it up.

Packet tracer file

p.s I would like to be able to use crossover cable instead of serial for ROUTER A to ROUTER B if it is still possible

fdc9c823e77cc48e5f6cdb15ae3274d3.png

Thanks in advance! :)

4 Replies 4

Hi,

Unfortunately I don't have packet tracert but you could verify:

- The routers limit the broadcast domain, so your computers should have different Default gateway, for example:

166.1.1.1 (for PC A)

166.1.2.1 (for PC B)

This gateways must be configured on the specific router facing to the switches where the computer A or B is connected. 

- In order to enable the communication between the computers you need a routing protocol like RIP, EIGRP, OSPF, IS-IS or use static routing. 

For testing you could configure the following on the routers:

router ospf 100

network 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.255 area 0

- Remember use a network between the routers it will work like a bridge to pass routing information between them, the suggestion is use network /30 por example: x.x.x.x/30

Hope it is useful

:-)

>> Marcar como útil o contestado, si la respuesta resolvió la duda, esto ayuda a futuras consultas de otros miembros de la comunidad. <<

Hey,

firstly thanks for the reply.

I tried to change the gateways but it still isn't working. I do not quite understand 'In order to enable the communication between the computers you need a routing protocol like RIP, EIGRP, OSPF, IS-IS or use static routing.' but I assigned my configurations with static IP addresses if that is what it means.