Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with routing on 2514

rstringer
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am a IOS beginner and I recently purchased a 2514 from EBAY. I would like to deploy it on my Windows-based home network. Would simply like to route between 2 network segments but don't know how. Can anyone help me with the configuration? I don't think it matters, but the router will sit behind a DSL router to the Internet. Must be able to reach the Internet from either segment.

Thanks in advance,

Rich

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

If You config your interfaces like this, and add a default route to Your DSL router ip. Then you could connect to internet from both of your networks.

And Yes, the router routes between interfaces by default.

router>en

router#conf t

router(config)#interface e0

router(config-if)#ip address 192.168.1.x 55.255.255.0

router(config-if)#exit

router(config)#interface e1

router(config-if)#ip address (second network)

router(config-if)#exit

router(config)#ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.1.254

router(config)#exit

router#wr mem

Done

Regards Tony

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

Hello Rich,

basically, you could connect one of the Ethernet ports to your local LAN and configure secondary IP addressing on that interface, this would make routing between your two network segments possible. The other Ethernet port needs to be connected to your DSL router (the 2514 does not support PPPoE).

Does that make sense ? Let me know if you need help with the configuration details...

Regards,

GP

Hello GP,

Thanks for your reply.

Yes, I very much would like the config details. You actually mentioned my 2nd planned config option, that is connected the router directly to the DSL router.

Also, I know that PPPoE is point-to-point over Ethernet, but could you explain exactly what that is?

Thanks,

Rich

Hello,