Helpful
Replies

How to drop a packet which has a specific attribute

MoeinClv
Level 1
Level 1

Hi dear Friends!

Nice to chat with dear Cisco Experts

I’m an Researcher and just published about 6 papers in different International Conferences and my next paper is about Custom routing and I really need some help from Cisco Systems experts. About my challenge in my paper that I described below:

My Question is:  Can we drop a packet which has a specific attribute? If yes, how do we can?

The example: We want a router to drop packages that are not read only, In other words, the router only passes packages that have read-only properties and drop other packets.

Really in need to deliver your response,

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Moein,

can you make a practical example of what you mean with read-only attributes of a packet ?

Just to make clear what you are looking for.

Hope to help

Giuseppe

View solution in original post

"So, Do you think its not possible to drop a "read only" data packet or data frame?"

Again, at the frame or packet level, there isn't any "read-only" attribute. (Actually, all frames and packets are "read-only" because to change any of the content you create a new frame or packet, you don't overwrite the original. Sometimes the new frame or packet is an exact copy of the original, sometimes it has been modified.)

However, if a device can identify something specific in the frame or packet, it can generally drop it.

Hello Moein,

as explained by Joseph there are very few options at IPv4 level to verify a packet:

A router when routes an IPv4 packet performs two changes to the IPv4 packet header:

the TTL is decremented by 1

the IPv4 header checksum is recalculated as the complement to 1 of the bytes in the header.

In practice TTL field is decremented by 1 and IPv4 header checksum is incremented by 1.