cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to join two subnets into one network?

ccrank
Level 1
Level 1

I have one router configured with two gateways 192.168.5.1 and 192.168.1.1, I need to combine these to form one network and then apply static routing to the new network(network 3). Finally I must configure NAT so that there is communication between all. I am a student and we are permitted to reach out for help from the networking community. I'm not looking for all the answers, just a push in the right direction. Should I remove one gateway and use it for network 3 and then bridge the two switches of subnet 1 and 2? Or is this when supernetting comes into play? I tried to upload the packet tracer, but it's not supported. I really want to get this with as little help as possible, but I am struggling here. 

I have added a zip file with packet tracer and instructions that I am trying to implement.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

I am not sure I understand the IP addressing you have used in Network 3. The devices have IP addresses in the 192.168.11.0/24 range, but their default gateway is 20.0.0.2, which is the serial interface ? The interface these hosts are connected to on the router is FastEthernet0/0 with IP address 192.168.10.1/24. This needs to be the default gateway, and the clients need to be in that range as well. NAT between both networks can then be configured fairly simply.

I have changed the DHCP scope on the server, and added the NAT config. Review the attached file.

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

Hello,

you can upload the Packet Tracer project (.pkt) file, but you need to zip it first.

Ok, Thank you Georg, I have zipped up the file and a short list of what I am trying to implement.

Chris

Hello,

--> New IP configuration that combines Subnet1 and Subnet2 into NetworkA
--> Class C network