Helpful
Replies

MPLS routes to advertise from CE to PE

j44mistry
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to MPLS and requirements.  

We have a new MPLS circuit being deployed between two sites. 

The ISP has asked me for what Routing Protocol , AS number and any LAN subnets I want to be advertise on CE Router.

Our Customer Router will be running EIGRP and is going to advertise 10.136.16.0/20 and 10.130.0.0 for VPN tunnels already.

So far I have told ISP that routers will need to be running BGP AS65001 on both CE routers at Site A and B.

What LAN routes need to be advertised from CE router ?  

I am hoping to have GRE VPN tunnels initiate from customer router.

Please see attached diagram.

23 Replies 23

Hello,

I still do not understand why you need tunnel. Why would your data source change over MPLS network. Can you explain more?

Masoud

Hi Masoud,

We are configuring GRE VPN tunnels over service provider network as a first instant but later on may move to using Cisco DMVPN.   This is more for security.

I just got it. You will receive two sets of Ip addresses form your service provider on both sides for the link which are routable on MPLS core(You may select those IPs). You can use those IPs for the source of your Tunnel. 

If you want to use different IPs from PE-CE link for the source of your tunnel, you need to advertise those IPs.

Then you can advertise your routes on Tunnel without depending on your service provider routing protocol.

Jon please give your opinion if I am wrong.

Masoud

Masoud

Sounds about right except the tunnel is not being created on the CEs as far as I can see.

That could be my fault for confusing the issue though :-)

So to the OP when I said your CE would pick the BGP over the EIGRP routes that was wrong because as you said in your original post the tunnels will be terminated on the customer routers in your diagram.