Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Multicasting Trouble

Quick little issue here. I'm pretty new to multicasting, through various forums and Cisco research I have been able to develop a multicast testing lab consisting of 3x Linux laptops and 2x 2921 routers. I have attached my topology and config files for clarity. I am able to see my multicast messages from Router1 to Receiver1 but I cannot get my messages across to Receiver2. I have also attached some troubleshooting command outputs from both Router1 and Router2 to see if you guys can spot anything that doesn't seem right. I've exhausted myself trying to figure out why this won't work. Any help is appreciated. 

6 Replies 6

Cristian Matei
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

Generate traffic from the source and post the output of the following commands from both routers: " show ip igmp membership 232.0.1.1" , "show ip mroute 232.0.1.1", "show ip mfib count 232.0.1.1" and "debug ip mfib pak 232.0.1.1".

Regards,

Cristian Matei.

Okay, so I ran the python script for sending UDP multicast, and ran the commands while it was doing it's thing. I have attached the following outputs from both routers. Interesting results from the "debug" command on Router2, I saw no traffic. Do I have to set up a GRE Tunnel in order to get packets across in a multicast environment? I can ping my whole network, including my multicast address on both routers.

Hi,

Does the cast receiver send IGMPv3 join messages? Do the attached changes and post again the same outputs as you're generating multicast traffic.

Regards,

Cristian Matei.