Views
Helpful
Replies

Multihoming ISP - What should we have?

wanmohdhafiz
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

My branch campus network will have 2nd ISP by next month. So we decided to do the multihoming for link redundancy & traffic sharing. Since i'm a beginner in BGP area, need feedback from you guys regarding preparation before doing the multihoming configuration. The questions as below :

MYREN.jpg

1- Main campus & branch campus using a different ISP. I have read Cisco technical document on how to configure the router ( http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk365/technologies_configuration_example09186a00800945bf.shtml#conf5 ). My questions is what should i have before doing the configuration? Should i request ASN and /24 public IP from new ISP at branch campus? Currently ISP at main campus already give us with /24 public ip address.

2- Or do you recommen to purchase public IPv4 & ASN direct from APNIC?

3- What next after we have all the information above?

4- For the future we plan to migrate to IPv6, what should we bare in mind before implimenting the multihoming task?

5- We got another ISP at main campus called MYREN. This ISP spesific for education & research. How can we allow traffic from local user at branch campus to use MYREN link?

2 Replies 2

Nataliya Omelyanyuk
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

will try to answer your questions one-by-one

1) based on your setup provided, I suppose that you should pay attention to the following document section:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk365/technologies_configuration_example09186a00800945bf.shtml#conf4

as in branch campus  you'll have 2 ISPs connected to 1 device.