cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Nexus 5000 Series Core routing issue

asochowski
Level 1
Level 1

So where do I begin? This is probably an easy fix as i feel i must have missed something but anyeays let me start. I have created a new VLAN (Vlan177) on our core switches (5548tp) for a new phone system implementation. I work in a hospital and trying to make easy sense of our network with our outside offices are all dedicated dark fiber with L3 3850's routing each of those sites. Initially all equipment was going to be in the main hospital so they built everything out under vlan177 (172.17.0.0/16) ahead of time. Turns out one of the controllers was installed in one of the outside offices. they said it would take them too long in order to configure everything again for the one controller under a new vlan so i said well i can do a point to point /31 network (however i dont like to because it is messy but it is still doable.). So i set everything up I have my routing statements in there defining to go to the outside router for the .30 and .31 addresses. Below are all the tests i have done and their results as well as the configs of the core router. the issue is from inside that vlan i cannot ping successfully (host unreachable) the 172.17.0.31 (<-this i sthe controller in the outside office) from inside its own vlan. 172.17.0.26 is a VM in the hospital attached to the core where i initially did testing from. I cannot pint the 31 address or access it via web browser from this machine or any other machine in this vlan. But i can access all the devices from any machine not on that vlan. 

TESTS:

ping/browser test from VM/my own laptop on Vlan177(172.17.0.0/16) to 172.17.0.31 - Host Unreachable/no browser

ping/browser test from VM/my own laptop on Vlan177 (172.17.0.0/16) to any other address on any other vlan - Succesfull

ping/browser test from VM/my own laptop on any vlan but 177 to 177(both the 172.17.0.26 and .31) is succesfull