cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

OSPF and BGP routing

HW2022
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I've been trying to connect my 3 different network locations together using OSPF and BGP. OSPF for inside each network location, and BGP for connecting each network together. Each location is an autonomous system including the internet.

However, the PC's in each location cannot ping the router side which connects to the internet. This means each site cannot communicate with each other.

My network is attached and any help would be appreciated.

14 Replies 14

Hello,

there is no BGP configured on any of the Internet routers. What topology are you trying to build, what do you want to accomplish ?

I'm kinda new to this, I'll put BGP bridge routers for the internet routers. My ideal topology is to have each network location connected to the internet. If that's what you mean by topology. Each location and the internet is an autonomous system and each location is in a hierarchical design and should be able to talk to each other.

Hello,

it is best to draw out what you want to configure: a drawing with ALL routers involved, then draw a circle around the routers you want to configure for OSPF, and a circle around those you want to configure for BGP. That way it becomes clearer what you have in mind.

I attached what my idea is. The second image is what each location will look like.

Hello
Your PT file is password protected so at this time we cannot view your current  configuration of the rtrs .

However based on your OP independent sites that are running an igp such as ospf and then having a external transit network as bgp for wan connectivity would require some redistribution of each site ospf internal routes into the bgp process at each location and if applicable advertising a default into ospf for each the site negating the possible requirement of mutual redistribution which is not really recommended given the size of a full external bgp routing table.