Views
Helpful
Replies

OSPF neigbour routers not exchanging information

mohit_kakkar
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am  newbie network administrator at work coming in with a linux backgroud so I am new to routing protocols.

I have to setup two routers, one called Montreal and the other Toronto.

We will be using a frame relay eventually but for testing purposes I just wanted to connect the two routers with a serial cable to test for connectivity.

I set up a serial cable, configured clock rate, and ran ospf. The two do not even seem to be exchaning hello packets.

I spent hours trying to figure out what is wrong but to no avail.

I attach my VLSM scheme as well as 5.3.1 packet analyzer file. If someone could point out the problem so I could fix it I wold appreciate it.

Thanks,

13 Replies 13

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Mohit

Can you ping one router from the other ?

Have you included the subnet of the serial link under your OSPF config on both routers.

If yes to both answers can you post the router configs as text as some of use can't read packet tracer files

Jon

Hi John,

I can ping from one serial interface to another. I checked that

As for your second concern, I just advertised the networks assigned to the subinterfaces of fa0/0 on both routers as these are the interfaces that have PC's and servers attached to them.

In my limited training, I was never told that we had to advertise the subnet of the serial interfaces themselves. Does  it have to be advertised?

I am more of a Linux Administrator being trained to do network administration hence my "simple" questions.

I am not on a windows machine so I cannot run packet anayzer so what I can give you is the VLSM outline detailing the networks of the routers:

Router1:

192.168.100.0 with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.192

192.168.100.128 with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.224

192.168.100.192 with a subnet mask of 

Router 2:

The serial connections are on these IP's and subnet mask: