Views
Helpful
Replies

OSPF Routers on a Shared Ethernet Segment

ksantillan06
Level 1
Level 1

Hi.

I am currently studying multi area OSPF neighbor relationship topics.

Question is, why are some networks designed to have routers on a shared ethernet segment?

I am only familiar with routers representing branch offices connected to the HQ site. So this could mean the HQ would have 2 routers for redundancy and maybe another separate router to serve as a voice gateway.

Upon seeing some training videos, some examples illustrated 4 or 5 routers connected in a shared ethernet segment. What are some scenarios of having a network like this? Does this pertain to Metro-E ?

Thanks in advance.

Kev

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Kev

A lot of it depends on the size of the network. But you do get the situation more often than you would think. Bear in mind that not all devices that run OSPF are routers eg. L3 switches, firewalls etc. can run OSPF. So in the last place i worked we ran a pair of L3 switches for redundancy connected to a pair of firewalls. They all shared the same ethernet segment and ran OSPF to exchange routes. In this scenario a DR/BDR was needed and it was the pair of L3 switches.

Before L3 switches came on the scene you could only connect routers to L2 switches and so you used a shared vlan more often. With the advent of L3 switching you could then have routed ports so it is probably more common now to connect to routers using routed ports and each switch/router connection is a dedicated segment so you don't see that many OSPF routers on the same segment.

Jon

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

lmediavilla
Level 1
Level 1

Most training have this design to show you how DR, BDR adn DROTHERS are elected, also about LSA 1, 2 and 3 is easier using the same ethernet segment.

Kind regards

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Kev